Increasing Diversity in National Certification: Resources

What is National Board Certification?
The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) is a national standards board that defines and recognizes the
teaching in different disciplines. Educators seeking national board certification undertake a process in which they demonstrate they have accomplished
education by fulfilling four components:
1. Content knowledge
2. Differentiation in teaching
3. Teaching practice and learning environment
4. Efficient and Thoughtful Practitioner
National board certification provides meaningful, self-directed professional growth as well as national recognition and career advancement opportunities. NBCTs may be eligible for financial bonuses depending on their district (good local business for that). For more information, visit

State offers incentive grants for certification and commitment

The National Board Incentive Program awards grants of up to $25,000, paid in installments of $5,000, to any teacher who has achieved National Board certification and commits to teaching at a high-priority school for five years. The program also provides grants of $2,500, paid in two installments, to teachers in priority schools who initiate the National Board certification process. Teachers in eligible schools with National Board certification and eligible educators interested in National Board certification can participate in the National Board Incentive Program during the 2022-2023 school year. Visit for more information and to apply for incentive and grant awards.

Student Support Services Educators

Healthcare worker with stethoscopeThere are also national certifications that recognize student support services educators who meet rigorous standards of preparation, ethical and professional practice, and continuing professional development:

Certificate of clinical competence in speech therapy(ASHA-CCC): The CCC represents a level of excellence in the field of audiology (CCC-A) or speech therapy (CCC-SLP). Certification standards are established by the Council for Clinical Certification in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (

Nationally Certified School Counselor (NCSC): The NCSC is awarded by the National Council of Certified Counselors to counselors who provide the highest standards of practice for schools and students (

Nationally certified school nurse (NCSN): The NCSN title reflects competence and professionalism in practice. Registered nurses must demonstrate a high level of education, clinical practice experience and knowledge (

Nationally certified school psychologist (NCSP): The NCSP is a credential awarded by the National Certification System in School Psychology of the National Association of School Psychologists (

Registered Occupational Therapist (OTR): The National Occupational Therapy Certification Board provides OTR certification to occupational therapists who provide fair, equitable, and inclusive care and professional practice through evidence-based certification practices (

Comments are closed.